Integrating InfoPath and Microsoft Word, the big delusion!

G

G. Tarazi

Well, you can say whatever you want, but once you start integrating that product (Microsoft InfoPath) to the rest of Microsoft Office, and hit a wall, you will get an idea of what I mean.

I don't understand why InfoPath is part of the office family? Neither the end user functionality, nor the background functionality is compatible with office.

I really don't understand Microsoft, why simply not completing the product, why releasing it such uncompleted?

Here is a question, even if I was a great developer, and I am able to write anything from assembly, up to a product such as Microsoft Word, if I had all this experience, will I be able to integrate InfoPath with Word 100%?

The answer is NOOO, I will reach a level of 70% of compatibility; will use tricks to solve another 10%, and the rest 20% just no way!

Today another problem, one year and a half InfoPath developer, one year and a half of problems:

- I have a set of InfoPath forms XML.
- These forms have multiple fields.
- One of the fields is rich text, in other words, XHTML.
- I must create a WordML document from these xml files.

There is no problem with all of that, I had a look at the WordML specs, I wrote the code to combine and extract the xml, etc, etc, etc.

Just one thing I didn't pay attention too, does the bloody WordML support the InfoPath XHTML? Bloody NO!

There is simply no easy solution, and at the end there is just no way to convert this XHTML to WordML without destroying the formatting and loosing some of the images.

Yeh, yeh, yeh, there is a buggy InfoPath toolkit in the folder, ...

Thank you Microsoft; again, that is another example of "Do less with more".

What is more important for you Microsoft, having a project done using your tools, or supporting meaningless internet standards such as XML, XHTML, ZXQUQUBBML, whatever, and having nothing valuable done with your products!